thoughts on AMD 64 Cpu?

i'm about to build myself a new computer, but i haven't been in 'the loop' about computer hardware in a while. I've been programming for the past 3 years and haven't done one pc-tech/hardware job, so i have a few questions about a lot of new technology.

- i was thinking about getting one of the new 64 bit cpus by AMD. I want to do mostly high end .Net programming and gaming. With the XP Os and games right now, will i be able to see a differenece in the performance now, or will i have to wait for a 64 bit OS (ie longhorn) to come out to see anything improve. (if that's the case, i'll just wait and by a 64 bit computer in a year or two).

- for the 200-300 dollar price range, what is a good video card? I want to do mostly gaming with the video card, but also some dvd-ripping.

thanks!

It depends on how bad you need a computer right now. Yes you will notice an increase in speed with an AMD 64, look at benchmarks at various computer sites, it performs great (and look at the Overclocking HO's thread in this forum, apparently the mobile AMD XP's can overclock like CRAZY).

Anyways, it all depends on how bad you need a computer. Intel should be releasing its 64 bit processors soon...I can't remember when but if you do a little search I'm sure you'll find expected release dates. Once Intel jumps in on the 64 bit CPU market expect AMD and Intel to start to battle one another, a result of that will be faster CPUs and prices dropping. I know, I know, you can *always* say that if you wait the technology will get better and cheaper, cause that's what technology does. But I think with the first few jabs thrown at one another between the two companies new CPUs are coming to come out faster and prices are going to drop faster then they will once the two companies steady out.