Training with Sciatica(spelling)?

I just started training in MT again and instead of easing my way back into it I picked up where I left off-damaging my Sciatic nerve. My lower back muscles spased out and are super tight-the doctor couldn't even believe how tight they were. I could barely walk or sit for short periods and am pretty much bed ridden right now. Just sneezing can bring me to a knee!

I rarely believe in taking medication but this was one time I made an exception. My question is after I can function again and strengthen up my core/lower back, should I be ok as long as I keep up with excersise.

Yes I did ask the doc but I prefer to get some opinions from someone who might have went threw the same thing. And besides, she's only a doctor, right :)

Go see a physical therapist.

As long as your not a fat bastad, lazy ass, bald white trash load to society, you should be OK after some PT.

I had the same thing, trained, went to sleep, woke up and could barely get out of bed, extremely painful, couldn't feel my foot, etc. I went to some doctors, but what really helped me was three part:

1) good chiropractor
2) good Physical therapist

3) i bought this thing called the total back system, like an antigravity chair, only it locks you by your hips and doesn't hang you by your feet.

Out of all three, number 2 and 3 helped the most. However, i didn't even think about training i was in so much pain, just wasn't worth the possibilty of it getting worse.

if this was a one time thing, then I would say some PT and your good to go. If this is chronic, then you need to find a PT that will not only cure the symptoms but also discover and solve the cause.

I think you need to do 3 things:
1. Train your lower body as a whole to eliminate imbalances: deadlift, squat. No need to go over board, just concentrate on reps and form...start off with air squats if nothing else.