underhook advantages from clinch

Guys,

Please excuse my ignorance for I am new to the standup arena of mma. I don't quite understand the advantages of the underhook. I've purchased the Dan Henderson series from SBG and discusses a lot of detail on how to get an underhook but I'm not too clear on the advantages of underhook over that of an overhook (whizzer). Are there more takedowns from that tie-up?

matbbj

I am not the best at clinch range being so tall but I can tell you that for me the under hook has helped me a lot.

Firstly it stops the other guy just dropping down and picking up one or both of your legs in the clinch. Even if you can not stop him it gives you some indecation as to what he's trying to do. Your arm acts as a sort of forklift.

Secondly the underhook is a great control position to hit off of. I tend not to hang out in any clinch position but rather flow from position to position , like on the ground.

Some of my students however get a grip and hit and hold for some time.

Try (if you have not already) working the underhook into your game with the three I's method. Work it for ten minutes - using the details in Dan's tape, drill it by going 25 - 50 -100% for twenty minutes and then spar your total game 30 for minutes or so.

I bet your find you start you ground game from the top position more than usall. Do the same with whizzer, double underhooks etc and build your personnal game.

I hope that has been of some help as thats how it works for me.

plus I forgot to say, I have at last "clicked" about using my clinch skills on the ground to hold position, hand fight to set up submissons etc and also to stand up when I have someone in my guard. The more you look and work it the more you see and best of all its fun.

Unless youve been out of hard training for six months like me and you have to keep visiting the puke dustbin (trashcan).

Thanks Boyscout for your replies.