Underhook problem

Head position can not be stressed enough. Underhooks can get you into just as much trouble as good if your doing it wrong. Most of the "hook" situations are used for set ups. It might work on a lower level (high school) but rarely in college or even international do you see someone going the upper body route since like I said before will get you in more trouble than it's worth. My case in point is well demonstrated by my good friend Les gutches. Here is his site: www.lesgutches.com. Than go to "techniques" Les is one of the best on underhooks. Learn from his drill set ups.

Have fun and I hope it works out for you.

Limpix

Thanks so much for that post Chip. The part about the snap down definitely feels right. I've been doing BJJ for a couple years now and decided to complement it with wrestling. I feel fortunate because at the place I train they have both freestyle and Greco(actually more Greco). I've been picking up the belly-to-belly suplex quite nicely lately. :)

Another question: What is considered a superior head postion? I figure it also depends what kind of tie up you have as well.

Lets say I take my right arm and underhook your left. I keep my head tight to your left shoulder and with my left hand I hook your head. I like using this position, but quite often, my partners will whizzer my right arm very hard. They don't necessarily try to throw me, but they whizzer my arm so hard that it wrenches my shoulder thus comprimising my balance. What can I do to deal with this? Anybody?

The problem is that you're getting into an underhook just fine, but could probably improve your use of it. Keep this in mind: an underhook is a means to an end, not an end in itself. You don't want to just "hang out" in an underhook.