Unexpected Results

I've been focusing exclusively on on bodyweight exercises for the last 4-5 months.  I usually do pushups, squats, pullups & crunches 5 days a week (Mon-Fri) and do a lower number of just pushups and squats on the weekends.

I lifted weights today and was stronger than I've been in years.  The most I've ever bench pressed was 225 for 1 rep about 10 years ago (I've never had a great bench).  Today I did 215 for a single and just missed a rep with 225.

I figured I would be considerably weaker after not lifting for a few months but that definitely was not the case.  Anyone else experienced this from bodyweight exercises?

I am going to keep lifting once a week and keep doing the bodyweight exercises daily as well and see how things progress over the next few months.

how old are you

I will be 35 this year.

Old man strength is starting to kick in.

I noticed a similar change after doing circuits involving press-ups for a 3 months period. Took my bench up 11 pounds.

It basically involved 20 seconds of flat out max press ups 10 times over a 30 minute period. Worth thinking about.

I had a similar experience everytime I've done anything 5-6x per week; I've noticed it with kettlebells, bodyweight exercises, sledgehammer training, and carrying sandbags for distance (exercises where I typically had a fixed resistance that I would use in a similar fashion almost daily for months at a time). Anytime I've been able to make something a daily thing (or almost daily) my body responded to it more dramatically then I would expect. Going from 3x a week to 6x a week seems to more than double (in many instances) the benefit I got from whatever the thing was.

BY benefit, I mean that whatever quality I was trying to improve with the activity seemed to improve more quickly. I really enjoy this type to training, as well, and I find I get a lot more out training in a way I really enjoy (even if it is sub-optimal for my goal).