USING KESA GATAME IN NO-GI TOURNAMENTS

USING KESA GATAME IN NO-GI TOURNAMENT (YES OR N0)?

sure. although i always use the BJJ style kesa with the far side underhook. I'm not that good at keeping my weight down wtih my arm around the head.

far side underhook! and then I've got an entire series I use for submissions americana, kimura, near side armbar, reverse triangle, reverse far side armbar,  knit choke, crucifix, threaded kimura.. 

I have seen some grapplers with judo backgrounds pull up on the head/neck (from the grip around the head) into their ribcage area (to stop breathing), lean back a little to submit the opponent. I think you have to be somewhat strong to do this. They also place their outstretched leg under the shoulder,this prevents "uke: from any turning onto their side or generate movement to escape.

Sure...Solid Judo works IMHO...whether you are wearing a gi, rashguard & grappling shorts, street clothes whatever...Get the Kesa...balanced...twist...lean back...crack those ribs...Ya baby!!!...  I have tapped opponents with just the Kesa...

I watched that fight and some of his others and that is all brute force no resemblance to the tecknique. Switching to Ushiro is one natural progression in judo if for some reason you can't get the arm around the back of the head (or are lossing the hold) or uke is preventing you getting a good hold but have the arm trapped in your arm pit. I remember in one of the first UFC's when Oleg Taktarov submitted a guy with Kesa. Can't find the match on youtube. Oleg had excellent skills and one of the first true MMA ers.

Depends. If they are sweaty and bald then it will be easier for them to slip their head out. Make sure their shoulder is deep, towards your hips. I also try to get a piece of my shoulder on their chin to keep them from slipping out, and then drop my head so we're ear to ear.