Want to buy a motorcycle. TMA

I am thinking about taking a class to get a motorcycle license and then buying a motorcycle. I am pretty clueless on a lot of this motorcycle stuff so tell me anything. 

I wanna do this because motorcycles are fun and girls like guys with motorcycles. I would want a sports type of bike instead of a Harley style of bike. I'm not one of those idiots that would want to ride it 100 mph down some streets so I don't need it to be too fast. What type of bikes should I look into? What types of helmets and gear should I look into buying as well? Thank you. 

I've been riding for 30 years. My advice is to get an old, cheap, relatively small Japanese bike to learn on. You should be able to find a 1980s 400-600cc bike for $500-$800, depending on the condition. This will be small enough to learn on easily, cheap enough to drop a few times without crying, and still plenty fast enough to thrill you or kill you. In a few years, you'll want to move to something bigger, nicer, or both, but at that time, you'll be enough of a rider to know what really feels good to you on a test drive.

Personally, I still like the small-to-mid bikes. I don't ride distances or race, so 550cc is still doing me fine. 

Willybone -

I've been riding for 30 years. My advice is to get an old, cheap, relatively small Japanese bike to learn on. You should be able to find a 1980s 400-600cc bike for $500-$800, depending on the condition. This will be small enough to learn on easily, cheap enough to drop a few times without crying, and still plenty fast enough to thrill you or kill you. In a few years, you'll want to move to something bigger, nicer, or both, but at that time, you'll be enough of a rider to know what really feels good to you on a test drive.

Personally, I still like the small-to-mid bikes. I don't ride distances or race, so 550cc is still doing me fine.