Weight lifting frequency????

Alright well this is the first time i post in this forum but id like to know other peoples opinnion on this...

Well here's the deal...i started lifting weights at some gym sometime ago. I would work out each muscle once a week. This went really well as i put on 40 lbs of muscle and got great results just from following the trainers instructions.

About a month ago i had to change gyms and at the new gym the trainer says that u should work out each muscle twice a week!? Like he gave me a program where i do bench press on 1 day then 2 days later i do more exercises for the pecs. This really surprised me cause i was used to the other way (train each muscle 1/week), but he says that i will get better results by training his way....

Pesonally it seems to me that the muscle needs alot more time to recuperate after a good workout...

What do u guys think?

Exactly what i was thinking...sometimes after 2 days i can still be abit sore from my last workout...it just seems crazy to me to train the same muscle again

But according to my new trainer thats the way to do it!?

Different trainers different ideas and styles.

Some people like to hit each body part 2x a week and others not.

Me I do 3 OL work outs a week and BP one day, Wide grip pull ups the next session, dips one session then one session. Or one conditioning session I do wide grip pullups, dips, rows, abb stuff.

Koing

Some routines that are more geared towards hypertrophy will have you work the same body part 3x a week, albeit you are only using your RM (5-10-15) during the last workout of each micro-cycle (2 weeks / 6 workouts using 15 reps; 2 weeks / 6 workouts using 10 reps; etc.) Check out hypertrophy-specific.com for an example.

Peace.

-Savage