What are good gyms to join?

We have a 24 hour fitness, gold's and ballys in my area. I'm fairly new
to lifting weights and working out, so im a newb. which places are
good, prons and cons of each?

Just be sure you read the contract very carefully.  And if you sign one for a decent length of time, be sure its one you can go to elsewhere if you move.

It really depends on the individual gym. Go check them all out and don't get pressured into a long term contract. I've worked for Gold's in the past and some of them are great and some not so great. Where do you live?

I'm not a big fan of Bally's, but that could be just me.

I think the above advice is good, check each gym. One thing to be careful of w/Ballys is some locations will push a lifetime contract, and I would be very wary of that. Although maybe they have stopped doing this.

Train at home.

Does anyone know what kind of contract 24 hr fitness usually makes you sign? Is it possilbe to give them a one cash payment for a year, like lets say 300 dollars for one year? Thanks

I think Gnejs2's garage is your best bet.

"Does anyone know what kind of contract 24 hr fitness usually makes you sign? Is it possilbe to give them a one cash payment for a year, like lets say 300 dollars for one year? Thanks"