What is the most effective art when in close...

contact with people such as being a bouncer, police officer (patting suspects down, dealing with drunks, etc)? I think Judo would be most effective since you try to get in close to people when attempting a throw and the fact that 90% of the population hasn't experienced being thrown or hates being thrown. I think Karate is a close second (vis-a-vis Lyoto Machida) in regards to strikes, sweeps and tripping people but the later 2 are also taught in Judo. Opinions?

gotta go w/ muay thai!

I'm no expert but I'd have to guess BJJ, Judo and MT, in no particular order

Wrasslin/MT

end of thread

Boxing and wrestling would also work out well.

Hooks and uppercuts are good for close in and wrestling is self-explanatory.

I think MT is better than boxing for close range since MT actually deals with the clinch situation rather than breaking it up. Greco Roman wrestling and Judo would be great as well.

Cubism.

lol @ wrist locks on some dude pumped up on dope and adrenalin

The only person I can see pulling off an Aikido joint-lock is a Judo guy or a wrestler.

Judo.

Wing Chun.

I train Judo with a Police Officer who once told me that Judo throws, takedowns, locks etc 'don't leave marks' compared to other forms martial arts and boxing...

depends on the type of combat specifically

you mentioned bouncers and police. I dont know the rules of contact for the police but ive been in Bar/Nightclub security for over 20 years all over the US and in Europe. Ill tell you first hand that any striking art IS NOT what you want. Matter of fact, when a guy comes in bragging about how he boxed/kickboxed I usually just throw his app right in the garbage

Ive trained everything over the last 25 years and wrestling/BJJ is the ONLY thing that holds water for me when I hire new guys.