What to expect from 1st BJJ class

I'm either starting BJJ at 1 of 2 schools in Southern Connecticut .....CT School of MMA or BestWay BJJ .... What are the things I can expect at my first classes ? Total novice to all mixed martial arts ......not in great shape either ...I lift weights and i'm at least 15 lbs overweight,cardio not good at all. Prior surgeries on right shoulder 2 times,left knee scope 2 times and right knee scoped last march with some small swelling and pain still.

A bunch of guys sweating, eager to distort some fresh meat.

Nah, don't worry. You'll be fine. Expect 2 or 3 techniques to be covered, then resistence added and then a roll at the end for about 20 minutes to half an hour, by the end of which you'll be gasping for air.

Don't try use too much of your energy when rolling, otherwise you'll be recked.

Expect to lose some skin from the tops of your feet, maybe your knees and elbows and expect to get tired. Other than that if it is a good school w/good people expect to have fun and make some good friends.

Just try to fake a brazilian accent, you'll be fine. Don't listen to what the instructor say, he's going to try to squeeze you between his legs, pretending it's the "guard". He's really trying in fact to rub against you.

BJJ is a nationwide gay association.

lol

I would make sure you know how to Tap.

Don't try to show everyone how tough and strong you are. You'll just get hurt worse:)

"he's going to try to squeeze you between his legs, pretending it's the "guard"."

lol, so true so true :)

Mention to people you roll with about your injuries and tell them flat out
you have no problem with tapping...but may not know when to...and are
more than willing to take suggestions.

Be very careful with any standup drills with your knees.

You'll be dead dired after the class.

Japetto will get you in trouble.

I suggest you don't say anything for the first year to year and a half unless you have to Tap verbally.