What's The Explanation Behind Squats/Deadlifts?

Every single workout thread here about building muscle the majority of replies are "deadlifts and squats!"

So what's the science or reasoning behind that? When I started training I was a 125 lbs, skinny little fuck. Im now at 175 at 9% body fat with never touching a single deadlift and minimal squats cuz of my knee.

But lately ive been really interested in starting deadlifts, still dont think ill do squats though cuz it kills my knee. So I figured id ask the broskis on the OG about them Phone Post 3.0

Simple. No matter how big your upper body gets, if you skip leg day, we'll laugh at your fag chicken legs. Phone Post 3.0

It triggers muscle growth hormones. Also gives you a thicker, more solid, and tighter look Phone Post 3.0

/thread Phone Post 3.0

Some Broscience:

1) For squats and deadlifts, you'll likely be handling the maximum amount of weight your body can handle. Maximum overload and intensity should yield to maximum strength and muscular development. Your body needs to adapt to increasing weights, so you should get both stronger and build more muscle mass.

2) Squats and deadlifts engage most of your body. Squats tax the legs and core, and depending on how you do them, potentially your cardiovascular system. Deadlifts work the legs, core, entire back (including traps), and your arms, especially grip/forearms.

If your body can handle it, they are two of the best bang for your buck exercises.

Not necessary exercises, however, to achieving a variety of fitness goals.

I believe the idea is that your legs and glutes are such large muscle groups that the anabolic reaction of working them hard has an effect on your whole body, not just your legs.

To paraphrase Rippetoe: Squats and deadlifts allow the most weight to be lifted by the most muscle mass over the longest range of motion.

Example: bicep curl - a few small muscle groups, light weight (relative), short range of motion to complete rep.