What's up with MMA fighters doing decently against boxers in boxing matches?

This is actually pretty shameful… boxers wouldn’t last a minute in MMA fights.

I’m talking about guys like Artem beating Malinaggi, Silva beating Chavez Jr, Perry beating Seals ect.

1 Like

Mma is better than boxing for boxing. Same as GSP was the best wrestler. So logically karate makes the best wrestlers.
Facts are facts. Deny them at your peril.

1 Like

Well, for starters Malignaggi should’ve gotten the nod over Lobov IMO. But, whatever, the boxer with the two most brittle hands in the sport didn’t belong anywhere near a bare-knuckle fight. It was idiocy on Paulie’s part. So…

Silva actually trained for the Chavez fight & took it seriously as opposed to JCC Jr who showed up unmotivated & out of shape. And it’s not as if Silva was a total novice in the boxing ring. He had a couple-few pro bouts prior to the Chavez bout.

Perry beating Seals was a bit of a shocker but it was a modified rules match not straight boxing & the fight could have gone either way. Besides, Seals is no top-flight fighter. He’s a decent journeyman at best.

So, it’s not as if the world’s best boxers are suddenly getting schooled by MMA fighters.

2 Likes

3 Likes

money is up jajaja…

I’m not following your Lobov vs Paulie logic. The thread is about MMA fighters doing decently against boxers. Paulie is a former world champ that isn’t Evander’esque in age and mileage. Lobov is a mid level at BEST MMA guy. Even if Paulie should have gotten the decision, it was close enough that it fits the spirit of this thread.

JCC may have showed up in less than his best shape, but again, Anderson beat him decisively so the thread spirit is still intact. Especially when you take into account him being 46 and JCC being 35 when they boxed.

Anderson’s boxing record (I didn’t even know he boxed before) was from 16 and 23 years prior to him boxing JCC.

2 Likes

Dang; I had forgot a time when Diego was 17-0 and then 21-2.