whats your typical workout?

whats a averge work out for you guys? im still new to muay tai and want to know what i should be focesing on.
\

Yeah that's an interesting question. I'd even like to raise another question about muay thai training: What's the matter with all the running?

I've read alot of coaches saying it's bad for fight specific conditioning since the rythm of the feet and type of activity (long distance aerobic) don't benefit muay thai. which also happens to be my opinion. the other side of course is the actual training which uses running.

I'd say sprints and hill sprints would be better than the 15 km running or whatever, since it accurately s(t)imulates the short-bursts-then-relax style of fighting and is more about strength endurance than just endurance.

this is not a troll or something, just tell me what you think or how you structure your workouts.

Sprints would be better conditioning then 15 km run but still not better then heavy bag, pads, etc. However, long aerobic running will help keep your body fat down.

yeh of course any kind of running won't be able to replace any actual pad-/bagwork. true about the weight, didnt think about that. another point is the running on your toes for the stamina in the calves, i think that would also be better trained while actually hitting the pads or the bag or maybe even skipping rope.

Personally I get shinsplints very quickly when i run, that's why i've looked for alternatives and simply can't jog/run like the thai workouts suggest.

If you are new to muay thai the most important thing for you is to focus on your technique, your footwork, and learning to "flow". At this level just jump some rope and shadowbox for 15-25 minutes total and do your workout.

total workout time 1-1.5 hours 3-5x per week