when to start competing in bjj?

so, i've been doing jiujitsu for the past month and a half and i'm eager to start competing, things is i don't know how to gauge myself against others. So my question is what's the level of competition like on the starting level, and how long did you guys wait until you started competing.

i dunno try the bjj forum

start now, best way to learn.

Work on your takedown defense. One thing you can expect at a Jiujitsu tournament are sandbaggers (guys that are really experienced grapplers that compete at a low skill level).

Wrestlers often do this, having wrestled all through middle school and high school, maybe even college, they enter the 1-3 months Jiujitsu experience division.

thanks for all the answers guys, mods, please move? thanks.

I have been traing for about 2 years in bjj. i competed in a holiday toury/toy drive for kide sponcered by JJ Machado. i had two matches. i lost the first one by arm bar(careless move i still think about) aand i won the secound by points. I really didnt care if i won, the main point was to prove to myself i had the balls to get out there in front of people and give it my best. i had alot of fun and plan on doing it again someday. By the way im 39 years old.

39!? damn, good shit though.

Akira: We have all seen worse posts in here so give it a break.

Vic: Best time to compete is when you feel comfortable, but the sooner you get the first competition out of the way the better off you will be. No matter when you start though it is always going to be nerve wrecking; it gets better with experience.

thanks for the advice guys, i'm a firm believer that competition makes for GREAT strides of improvement in whatever sport you're competing in.

basically, it's fundamental.

^^ agreed. the wost thing that can happen is you tap, and most of us do it all the time in class anyway. you will be proud of yourself!