Where's the Kazushi in pickups?

Where's the Kazushi in pickups?

I have been training in Judo for several months and I love the new found understanding of "Kazushi" that I have gained as a result of my training and it has added a whole new dimension even to my wrestling and submission wrestling. But it is perhaps becuase of my new found love of "Kazushi" that I am having a hard time understanding how "pickups" make any use of it. Pickups seem to simply be properly timed "power moves" without much regard for off-balancing an opponent and the like.

To me they just seem like my old bread and butter wrestling takedowns which involve technique, don't get me wrong, but which involve a great degree of strength as well, unlike something like a foot sweep, trip, or many types of hip throws.

Am I wrong in thinking this? If so, could someone help to explain how one uses "kazushi" when setting up and executing these throws?

If any one has any insights, please share them.

kuzushi

"Where's the Kazushi in pickups? "

In the setups. . .

Or about the time your shoulder hits, or you begin
the lift (depending on the "pickup").

Chuck

Just because it isn't in the happo-no-kuzushi doesn't mean "up" isn't a direction of breaking balance.

Chuckk is correct... take morote-gari (the double-leg), for instance. You know you've got the kuzushi right in this throw when uke can't sprawl effectively and goes down easily and with control.

In essence, the "kuzushi moment" happens as you trap uke's legs with your hands and begin to simultaneously clip the legs and push with your shoulder. If your timing is right, you'll unbalance him and make it impossible for him to defend the major action of the throw (the pickup).

If you don't create this moment of vulnerability (which is what kuzushi is all about), uke will maintain his balance and will sprawl or counter.

Thus, the basic principle is the same as for the more traditional throws.