Why are Colby and Usman not submitting guys the same way Khamzat does?

Seems like it would be a no brainer for Colby and Usman to become proficient at submissions like Khamzat. They would save themselves from taking so much damage on the feet if they just take down and choke out their opponents. Or is Khamzat just that much better than them at wrestling and controlling opponents?

8 Likes

I’ve been saying this for so many years now. Wrestlers can take their opponent down at will but then all they do is grind out boring decisions

Imagine Colby Covington if he could submit people. He would be unstoppable

7 Likes

Colby’s style is a bit questionable. I root for him but he pressures with high output standup with the threat of takedown. But he doesn’t have a ton of power that way & gives a ton of time & opportunities for bigger punchers to land something. I mean it works, but has given him quite a bit of damage in fights as well. I’d like to see a more grappling focused Colby.

2 Likes

Just goes to show how hard that is. Khamzat still looks unstoppable to me. The Burns fight will not repeat itself anytime soon.

5 Likes

I think it’s a question of raw strength. Hughes had a lot of submission wins, but Colby is very different physically, he is a cardio and pressure guy, more slow twitch muscle.

4 Likes

Colby needs to hop on the gear and start ear raping these mfers.

3 Likes

Khamzat came up doing sambo and judo in addition to wrestling so submissions maybe come a bit more natural to him.

Colby isn’t great at controlling people. He gets takedowns but they’re on their way back up pretty fast and he either spends most of his time keeping them down or trying to get another takedown. Most of Usman’s control has been standing against the cage.

4 Likes

Why do we not simply appreciate fighters for what they are, instead of constantly wishing for them to be somehow “perfect”?