Worried about my kids- Hurricane

http://www.nbcnews.com/watch/nightly-news/hawaii-braces-for-iselle-first-hurricane-since-1992-316185667904

Just talked to their mother and everybody's just hunkered down at grandma's watching movies, so that's good. It just sucks that there's absolutely nothing I can do except wait for the next call.

This is the first time since he was born that my youngest has been away from me for more than a week. Let him go back to my hometown to spend the summer with his mom and now they're getting hit with two hurricanes in a row.

In my mind I know they're in a good spot and well prepared, but at the same time all I can see is all the worst case scenario stuff I studied while doing work training as a first responder/crisis counselor after the last one (Iniki) hit.

As of 30 minutes ago, some steady rain and wind gusts is all that's happened, plus a tree branch fell on someone's car down the street. Hoping that's the worst of it. Phone Post 3.0

Fuck Mother Nature!!

Hope all ends well fren, scarey shit.

It'll be alright. They will probably lose power for a bit because the power grid goes down during any type of storm. 

I just left Oahu last week, everyone I know there is all stocked up on water, batteries and beer. Its just going to suck being without power for a few days (at most).

I was in Iniki on Kauai. We were in a plantation warehouse and everything was caving in on us. During the eye of the storm, we went outside to assess the damage and one car was flipped over onto another car. Then huge piece of galvanized roofing was heading right for us, threatening to sever us in half, so we ran back inside and continued watching the ceilings collapse all around us.

Fun fun fun fun fun.

Jack Carter -