Wrestling in a GI

How did it change your wrestling takedowns?, i've finding the crossover a bit difficult. Any ideas?

For me, clinching, try to dominate the tie-up, trips and body locks, Russian two-on-ones.

Work on grip fighting, very important to establish a dominant grip. Use your elbows to block and loosen your opponents grip.

I like to wrestle in a gi. It's easier to do the fireman's carry when you can grip the opponent's gi pants.

The Gi really slows things down. I try to work the things Howard mentioned, but I am still trying to translate what I learn at wrestling class to BJJ with a GI.

why not learn judo?

I took Judo for a little while as well. I just like wrestling more. I'm not that good at torquing my hips in and committing to turning - thereby exposing -my back against a BJJ player. I also find the traditional straight up stance of Judo allows the BJJ player to jump guard easier. The staggered and crouched stance from wrestling makes guard pulling more difficult to achieve.

However, I did learn how to grip fight and foot sweep from Judo tho.