Yoga experts.... Please help!

What are your best tips?
Best way to begin?
How many hours per day can asanas be practiced?
Can one have multiple sessions per day? 2-3 sessions per day?
How much of the yoga philosophy do you practice in your life?

Thanks!

I can help you if you post a pic of your downward dog.

2 Likes

I No Kung Foo -

First post, game over. 

Work up a sweat first, don't try to stretch first cold.

Buy the book on Yoga by Van Lysebeth

Yoga, Self-Taught

You're welcome.

seek - What are your best tips?
Best way to begin?

Thanks!

Im a big fan of ashtanga yoga. If you follow it strictly it's one session per day, six days a week. If you're learning it the Mysore it won't be much when you start. You'll pretty much be doing sun salutations. As you progress you start adding more poses to your practice and it gets longer. The full primary series, which most people never even end up completing, probably takes about an hour and a half to complete. It's quite intense though. As for philosophy, that's really up to the individual. Personally I don't care for it and just do it for the physical benefits.

My $0.02

Remember that yoga is not a competition 

WidespreadPanic - 

Work up a sweat first, don't try to stretch first cold.

Buy the book on Yoga by Van Lysebeth

Yoga, Self-Taught

You're welcome.

Thanks, got it!

I'm not an expert but I've done alot of yoga for many years. To address your questions individually starting with best way to begin:

The best way to start is to find a studio and show up, but with the corona insanity thats prob not realistic, so find a youtube video or a book and follow along with the movements. I say to find a studio because having someone to look at what you're doing and help/correct your posture is invaluable. You can't see yourself, so it's very beneficial to have a teacher with an outside perspective to help you. The structured schedule also helps with consistency, which is very important.