ATTN: Stephan Kesting

I need your help. I have problems with my back (2 protrusions) and also I'm not very flexible. I wanna strengthen my core and get flexible. What do you recommend: pilates or yoga?

Whatever is cheaper and has a better class schedule and doesn't require you to sign up for 12 months. In other words, a cheap drop in class. Yoga is the ultimate for stretching, but pilates is better for building up core strength faster. You need both in jits.

2 protusions on your back? You need medical or chiropractic clearance before you roll, unless you've got it already. You don't need an injured disc....

[edit: sorry, didn't see this was addressed to Stephan]

Tudor - Just to start things out right I should emphasize that I'm not a doctor, not a physical therapist, not a chiropractor etc.   Also if anyone else wants to jump in and help out I'd be perfectly fine with that, so SPEAK UP!!

When you say "protrusion" do you mean "osteophyte" - this would be a bone spur from osteoarthritis - or do you mean to say that you have bulging disks, or is it something different. 

Where are these protrusions: cervical, thoracic or lumbar spine?

Have these protrusions actually had any effects on your spine or nerves (pain, numbness, loss of function etc?)

Were the protrusions the result of an acute injury, a chronic injury or congenital?

For the record, I wouldn't (and haven't personally) taken spinal problems lightly.  An injured elbow is one thing, a f$*%$d back or neck can be crippling for life.  That is why I dropped out of the ADCC trials earlier this year - getting healthy was way more important to me than competing.

Personally I'm pretty flexible in my back, and strengthening seemed to help my problems way more than stretching.  This could be the other way around for someone who isn't very flexible.

Finally if you haven't already read some of the things I wrote about my back injuries please read

www.grapplearts.com/2006/02/dont-take-injuries-lying-down.htm

and