Black belt in Sambo

I was wondering, after seeing some of Steve's vids, I noticed he has a black belt. I thought there are no belts in sambo?

Steve is probably a black belt in judo as well. Maybe.
Plus, it distinguishes instructor from student.

I have been competing in sambo for many years.

On the whole sambo does not have a grading system.
However a percentage of instructors have incorporated a belt system since the late 70's. For the critics on the forum; No it is not just american or english instructors that employ a grading system. I can name several well known sambo practioners who employed a belt system at one time.

It has become more fashionable today not to have a grading system. It doesnt really exist that much today.

For instance in 1991 i witnessed david rudman oversea a promotion of someone to so called black belt level. David Rudman, a russian is thought of as the number one authority on sambo in the world. He is a russian national treasure.

Finally before we have the whole sombo or sambo debate. I have letters sent to be from sambo-70 in russia (the largest and oldest sambo club in existence) in which its logo said 'Sombo-70' not sambo- 70. So at one point the adopted the term also.

For people like me who have been involved in sambo before it became popular with the ufc, it is really funny who blow this kind of thing out of proportion.

However my opinion is that there is no need for a grading system. A grading system just leads to sand-bagging in contests and the withholding of information. As a sambo instructor i have not employed a grading system. You show your skill level on the mat.

"blow this kind of thing out of proportion."

Dimball seemed to be asking a very simple, and reasonable question. I answered in kind. You may have 'projected' a little there, but that was a very fair question.