evolving as a martial artist......

I read through the posts in the Tae Kwan Do thread and it made me think of my current situation.

I'm 18, and I've been doing Wing Chun for 2 years. (chinese art using mostly fists, similar to boxing.)

First, let me say my "kwoon" isn't TOTAL bullshit. We condition, (toughen up limbs, body, head, etc..), we do warmups, (some of which are actually very hard), and we actually get quite a bit of sparring in.

The sparring is pretty good from what I can tell. We'll hit pretty hard on body shots, but we'll pull back on face shots. (most of the time, and I know the advanced students go pretty rough.) My teacher has also showed me some very basic bjj moves. (the guard, one way of passing it, a few joint locks like the achilles and an armbar, a wristlock, etc..)

However, there are certain things I really don't like.

We spend a lot of time on forms. Some of the time they teach you how to do certain movements, but overall I think they are useless.

Second, we do a lot of our strikes "empty" style. Meaning we don't do much bagwork. (even though punching bags are there.) Thus, my punches are very fast and accurate, but don't have much power.

And last, I think it's my teacher himself. Don't get me wrong, he's a good guy overall. However, I once asked him what he thought of me cross training (sub. wrestling, bjj, muay thai kickboxing, etc..) and he said he would kick me out. I don't think any good teacher would EVER discourage cross-training. In fact, I think most would encourage it.

Now theat really frustrates me because we do crosstrain. (he teaches us some bjj) He is just stubborn in general. His word is always undisputed. Sometimes I want to question him, but I know I'll get the disdain of him and the other students.