Grappling in MMA

I am by no means any kind of expert on this, but it leaves me curious after most fight cards. I have been training for around 4 years in BJJ but don't do any striking. I watch MMA and sometimes Im confused by how ignorant many guys seem to be of even the basics of BJJ. The most extreme example that comes to mind is Emanuel Newton against Liam Mcgeary

I'm not wondering why mma guys aren't trying high level sport stuff that are either risky or downright crazy when strikes are involved, but I just don't get why some guys don't seem to have any understanding of guard retention, shrimping, passes, basic subs, etc.

Am I missing something here? What do you guys think of the overall BJJ of mma fighters?

I was thinking just the same whilst watching last night. Obviously one hard shot to the head can change your priorities and send the basics out of the window, but even so I'm surprised at some of the basics that don't seem to happen. Worst last night was aj's bottom half guard, his best idea seemed to be throwing punches! Phone Post 3.0

I don't think anybody trains bjj for mma all that much anymore, I think it's all wrestling,striking and just standing back up if you get taken down Phone Post 3.0

try doing grappling with strikes a few times...and then come back and repost.

nowaydo - try doing grappling with strikes a few times...and then come back and repost.

Im way too pretty to be getting punched in the face, but you clearly missed my point. There are often times where strikes haven't really entered the equation in a meaningful way and the grappling still stinks.You can't blame all the shortcomings on striking being in the equation. I concede it is very different, but not completely.

I think MMA grappling is a product of the current rules. I'm not saying it's bad or good but people are going to game whatever rules system is in place.