Grappling in Orlando?

I just moved to the Orlando area and am trying to decide between two gyms to train Grappling and stand-up.

I am trying to decide between Simas' school, www.marciosimas.com, which has a fantastic reputation or another school that is much cloder to my home and also looked good, but I am no expert. Theis other gym is Kokopelli's Gym and looks to specialize in NHB training. Anybody with any input on these two.

Has anyone heard of Kokopelli's gym and how does it stack up against Simas' school for grappling, stand-up, etc?

Thank you,
Santino

Santino,

There is also DelaRiva Jiu Jitsu. www.orlandobjj.com

I trained there when I was on travel for work in Florida.

There is Apex Martial Arts too. A Royce Gracie Black Belt is there and they do other martial arts there as well.

Good Luck.

Mat

drive to marcio's.. the grappling is subperb with numerous black belts and world champs. The stand up and vale tudo class has world class fighters from UFC, K1, KOTC, and many more.. all of the new no holds fighters they have been training have gone undefeated this year...

For good BJJ instruction, you can't go wrong with either De la Riva's or Sima's schools. I never had the chance to train with W. Bettencourt, but had a great time with Marcello Grosso, Dino and Ricardo at a few seminars awhile back. All students of their academy were very friendly and seemed more like a family.

Marcio's school is top notch but be ready to have your ass handed to you when you sign up. He has alot of great students but there but it's different. The atmosphere is a more tense and alpha-male oriented. I am sure it's how Marcio was taught and he is phenomenal.

Thanks guys for your input. I am going to try to make into to Simas' tonight to start training. I would check out DeLaRiva, but I think the drive to the school would be too much through traffic.

Perhaps I will see you there Buzzbjj.

Santino