How hard do you spar?

This kind of goes along with the previous "hot head" thread.

I have been training BJJ for about 10 months. I just came across a guy in class I never saw before, and I asked him to spar. Real quickly I found him to be a very close match for me. He caught me first in an arm bar. I dislike tapping as much as the next guy, but if I get caught I tap. This guy ripped harder than anyone I have ever rolled with including upper belts. It was like his life depended on it. I am not a stranger to injury, and am honestly surprised my elbow didn't pop. It really got my attention, and I was able to redeem myself.

I wanted to say something to this guy about taking it easy on joints while sparring, but I felt like a pussy complaining. My question is, is it worth ripping tendons at the white belt level sparring in class? I understand competition is another story, but is there such a thing as too hard outside competition?

At my school, the general rule is "Hard for positioning, soft once you've got the sub".

Of course, it's tailored to the individual, but that's our general rule (ie if you don't say anything to me before the match, I'll feel free to grind while we roll, but if I catch a sub, I'll apply it very gradually till you tap).

It's not worth it, no. Some guys seem incapable of switching gears though, they have one speed. Full. I try not to roll with those guys.

It happens. We have drills at my school called Soft Work. It is basically mathcing each others speed, so you think about your options and try new things with good technique.

It never fails that as soon as you get into clinch range with newbies, it goes from light contact to "If your life depended on it ". It kind of defeats the purpose of the drill.