How long before returning to training after heart attack?

Hi all. Newbie here.

I’ve been training BJJ and MMA for the last two years and had a heart attack exactly four weeks ago after a BJJ class. Thought I was developing a nut allergy for a few weeks with breathing issues and indigestion until I couldn’t breath after class and felt like I still had the 300lb gorilla on my chest. This time it wasn’t after eating so I realised something else was going on. Managed to get to ER while the heart attacks gradually increased and had stents in and finding I was 99% blocked.

I felt instantly better after the op (like a new man), but have kept to the docs instructions for the last month by sticking to walking and gradually increasing it with light workouts. I’ve taken my diet down as clean as it can get (no caffeine, sugar, salt, sat fat etc) and am basically a rabbit now. Trouble is I’m feeling way better than I have in years, want to get back to training, but the doc is saying no way while I’m on blood thinners - which will be for the next year.

I know he’s got to tell me this, and I know I probably should quit BJJ per his instructions, but I’ve tried explaining that in order to avoid another stress induced heart attack, I’d like to get back to the one thing in my life that helps me manage stress. So….question for anyone who might have been here before….

1. Is it possible to get back to light rolling if I’m on thinners?
  2. If so, when?

I’m feeling the best I have in years, but am clawing the walls here with a grappling dummy who never talks to me (or ever taps out)!

Thanks for putting up with the lengthy explanation, but any advice would be appreciated!

1 Like

Instead of listening to your doctor you came here to get told what you want to hear.
Listen to your fucking doctor

18 Likes