How much training before first fight.

Whats everybodys opinion on how long you should train before your first fight. I've been traing for 6 months now and progressing at a good pace. I plan to train for another 6 months (making it a year total don't know why i felt the need to point that out)and then start looking to pick up my first ammy fight. I guess ultimatly it will be up to the coaches at the gym if they feel I'm ready or not but I'm curious how long other people treained before their first fight.

When your trainer asks if you want to fight, and you feel confident enough to say "yes."

When your trainer asks if you want to fight, and you feel confident enough to say "yes."

EDIT:
Don't go around begging your trainers to fight either, they will let you know when they feel you are ready.

Spend your next 6mos on sprawl training...that's it.

This is like the age-old questions:

"How much ass before you banner?"

or

"How little ass before you ban her?"

When you can crack those questions, I think you'll find your answer.

1 YEAR,  and that is if you are a freak of a savage.  I've seen many, many guys think tey can fight after only 6 months training and they get a rude wake up call, and usually give up mma because they rushed it.

Do it the right way, trust me come the second round, you'll wish you would've had WAY more training.

train hard and leave it to the coaches. if you dont have any back ground like wrestling or something, at LEAST a year. i would talk to your coaches about smokers. i did two smokers before i started fighting and i think they're very helpful for you and your trainers. good luck man!

i barely know you, but just by looking at you i can tell your ready.

if that sounds really stupid than go the other way & listen to your fellow roob. he may be on to something.

-MM