I want to spar but I have one eye

I am 38 and have done BJJ for 12 years. I have been training kickboxing for about 6 months and am loving it. There is a technical sparring class every Wednesday at my gym. I have watched the class, and I want to do it, badly. My issue is that I have one eye. This brings up two issues. One is that I cannot take damage to my good eye as I would then be blind. The other is that I cannot take damage to my prosthetic eye. I can take the prosthetic out, but I am not sure how the implant would hold up.

The obvious thought, I would think, is that this is ridiculous. It isn’t worth it. Why risk it. Dude, find something else to do, etc. At the same time, maybe I am wrong? Maybe there is some headgear out there that offers a super high level of protection? Maybe I am being a vagina?

The class is a “technical” sparring class. The hard sparring goes on during pro classes in daytime and in the boxing ring all the time, but this class is supposed to be more about practicing and not beating the shit out of each other. At the same time, I am certain that there are some people who go super hard anyway and I am sure that a punch or kick landing harder than anticipated is not rare.

So, I have been contemplating this for some time. I want it so bad, I just feel like I need to do some form of sparring to get to that next level, but having one eye, I would likely be pretty dumb to try it. Also, one of the kickboxing students I pair with all the time, a kid, asked me if I would do the tech sparring class with him for the first time and I would love to do it, both for him and me.

Man, I am torn. Really venting because as much as I want to spar, I just don’t think I can. I will never be a fighter, this is all recreational stuff, but it looks like so much fun.

Thoughts?

Maybe just light sparring or ball punches only.

1 Like

First, sorry for your injury.

2nd, No.