Judo Mats: Harder, softer, bigger?

Can anyone who has grappled on Judo mats as well as standard wrestling mats describe the difference? I've wrestled on wrestling mats my entire life and have never been on any other type of grappling surface (I dont count rolling on pavement during the course of streetfights :), so I have no idea what the difference between Judo mats and wrestling mats are. Could someone describe the differences, however many exist, in terms of thickness, hardness, ease of movement on it, etc.?

i noticed that judo mats are harder but have a lil spring to them, wrestling mats that i been on were way to soft.

just my opinion

wrestling mats are spongy with a surface designed for shoes.

judo mats are firmer and used barefoot. (judo's empahsis on taking out your feet) on wrestling mats there would be alot more broken toes and ankles. They are much better for taking a hard fall.

CF, I was a wrestler all my life (from k-college) I've been doing judo for <4 yrs. now. I'd never go back to any other surface after training on nice judo mats.

I sell martial arts mats for Swain Sports International so I can tell you that there is a big difference between martial arts mats/judo mats versus wrestling mats. First of all the density is very different. A wrestling mat is soft causing you to sink in very easy. With our Swain mats the density is very high which is needed for movement and pivoting. This is important to prevent injuries. The 1.5" thickness of the Swain mat provides great protection when taking falls of hard throws. As far as martial arts are concerned you can't beat the reputation and quality of the Swain mat. Feel free to contact me if at the office with any questions 800-662.4616 ask for ext. 15.

Lee Heitzman