List of the top Karate based MMA fighters

I was browsing some Karate stuff today and how it relates to MMA. I came across this list on a few different sites.  As a Black Belt in Shorin-Ryu Karate i felt like it would be cool if i was on the list then as i scrolled down i saw my name.  Pretty cool!

I studied Karate for my first 6 years of martial arts before UFC 1 ever took place and I have since gone back to my roots.  I feel into the boxing and muay thai were the only way to go mindset.  Im once again free from that mentality now.

I believe as Machida has showed,  Karate can be the most effective standup style to win fights and not take damage a while frustrating and confusing opponents and i believe you have to be well rounded to make it work.  Im not saying Karate works by itself, obviously if you have no ground game you will be in trouble. 

PLEASE NOTE THE LIST IS IN NO PARTICULAR ORDER but im sure some people will overlook what i just wrote and ask why some people are ranked higher than others haha. Lets see who the first guy is to ask that question. 

Really it ends up being that dime-store Karate likes to take credit for the good Karate that is out there.

There is a gigantic difference between the two, and the crappy ones ride the tail of those that put in the work.

1. Lyoto Machida
    Perhaps the most famous Karate practitioner of today, the UFC LHW Champion. Lyoto is a 3rd degree black belt in Shotokan Karate under his father Yoshizo Machida - a 7th degree black belt and JKA chief instructor.

2. Bas Rutten
    A a 5th degree black belt in Kyokushin Karate, famous for his deadly Liver Shot. Bas started out in TKD, after getting his Shodan he switched to Kyokushin Karate. Rutten entered MMA as a pure Karate striker but kept improving his submission wrestling skills and developed his game enough to eventually become a three time "King of Pancrase" and the UFC HW Champion.

3. Guy Mezger