Never felt "tough"

I've been studying martial arts of some kind or another for almost 15 years. I've had my share of scrapes and have never been afraid to speak my mind (which can cause problems) BUT... I've NEVER felt tough in my life. I've never gotten into a fight where I wasn't nervous as hell, never had a match where I didn't have to take a deep breath before we started, I've never been around a violent situation that didn't get my heart beating just a little bit faster.

I have plenty of friends and training partners who I honestly believe do not fear these dangerous situations. Maybe it's because I'm a little guy (5"6, 160 lbs),but any potential of violence always gets my at least a little jacked up. I was making the observation in conversation the other day that the "best" fights I've ever been in (sustained the least damage) are the ones where I was in it before I realized WTF was going on. Any time I have a chance to think about it nerves take over.

I'm not necessarily posting for advice per se (although any is welcome), but to put it out there because I'm sure there are a lot of other people like me that feel this way. I remember Mike Tyson once saying he got scared before every fight he ever had. Any of the pros in here that have honestly gotten past all jitters? And if so, if it's on the street are you still as confident?

The other side of this is the situation that gets me so pissed that I'm throwing myself into a fight before I can think. Watching some guy obviously pick on someone half his size, or this one time when a pissed off drunk at the bar thew his beer bottle at the lady bartender 'cause they ran out of his favorite beer. In a case like that I may just throw myself into the mix before I can think also.

Once my teacher and I were having a bite to eat at a local pub and a fight broke out and one guy pulled a knife and the other got a tire iron.