Not a Great Sign for Getting Promoted

I just thought this was kinda funny…

An old acquaintance type guy, who drops in once in a while for classes, asked about promotions after he dropped into a class on Saturday. I was kinda confused.

I said, “But, wait… Are you a student here…?”

“Yeah”

“–A paying student here…?” [I don’t deal with money]

“Yeah, since early last year”.

I said, “Oh… I didn’t know that. I thought you just dropped in occasionally.”

“No, I’m a student.”

“Ahhh. How many times a week do you train?”

“Two. But I split it up sometimes and go to [another school]”

“Really? Which days do you train here…?”

“[A day I don’t teach class] and Saturday”

‘Saturday…?’ But, I haven’t seen you here on a Saturday in at least a couple months. You’re never here on a Saturday. You must be training 95% of the time at the other school, if you train 2 x a week. why not get promoted there?"

“Because this is my school.”

NOTE: FWIW, if your teacher 1) doesn’t know he’s your teacher and 2) doesn’t even know you’re a student at the school… that just doesn’t bode well for promotion.

17 Likes

anyone who asks about promotion hasn’t earned it

10 Likes

Right, so are you gonna promote me or what? @shen ill bring you a pineapple Saturday

11 Likes

Promote him to floor sweeper

2 Likes

Unless your intention is to open your own school, i never get the importance of belt colour.

I always feel its better to have technique above your belt level.

Would you rather be a blue belt who taps purples? Or a purple belt who gets tapped by a blue belt?

11 Likes

You should hire him as Janitor-Joe.

3 Likes

@shen is it safe to assume an envelope with two crisp $20s was stuffed in your belt while he was talking to you, you remembered he was a loyal student, and he’s now a faixa preta?

2 Likes

I just long for the old days, when students were sophisticated enough to know some cash in an envelope slipped into your gym bag, was all that need be said.

9 Likes