QUESTION: single leg

cross-posted to the Wrestling forum

Hi guys,

One of my highest percentage moves in BJJ is a single-leg takedown from my guard. Well, I'm calling a single leg but I really don't know the real name for it because I have no knowledge of wrestling.

What I do is, when my opponent is in front of me, I get to my knees and grab his right leg around the knee with both hands, gable grip. I also put my ear against his belly (head inside). I then step over his right leg with my left leg, pull his leg hard into my belly, and drive forward, sort of walking around to his back at the same time, sort of like turning the corner on a double.

Sometimes this puts them on their back by itself; sometimes I end up reaching across his front with my right hand and grabbing around the outside of his left knee and finishing him that way.

I have three questions about this move:

1. I haven't used it against many people with wrestling experience. It tends to work well against people with a BJJ background. In your opinion, will this move work against a wrestler at all, or is it a silly move to use?

2. Do you have any suggestions for changing or improving this move?

3. how do I recounter when my opponent sprawls back hard and breaks my gable grip around his legs before I can force him to his back? (this is my big question). I usually just sit back to guard, but I'd rather have an option that allows my to continue my attack to force him to his back...

...thanks, matt

I'm just starting to play with this myself. My only suggestion is to hug the thigh (either arms apart or grabbing your own elbows) rather than using the gable grip.

twinkletoes,

why hug the thigh instead of a gable grip? also, what do you mean by "arms apart?"

thanks,
matt

1) Why hug the thigh instead of gable grip? Because it uses larger and stronger muscle groups. The hands/wrists are the weakest link in the chain, so I'm avoiding using them.