Real KO Power - An examination of increasing punching power

Hey guys -

Here is an article I wrote several years ago that I came across again and thought it would be something great to share. I am an engineer, a former pro mma fighter, a BJJ practitioner, and a competitive chess player.

This article is one of my theories I developed when I was teaching private students that included high degree TMA black belts, boxers, MMA fighters and average joe’s.

Take a look and let me know what you think.

1. Theory

2. Basic Technique

3. Basic Application

4. Advanced Technique

5. Advanced Application

This was related to the theory and basic technique sections of the theory. This is more of an introduction to the concepts of striking and power delivery….It was also geared towards guys asking about ways to increase their punching power so I went forward with this. The more advanced concepts and techniques are covered in later chapters such as timing and precision I just wanted to give a little background so you understood the context under which this was written. Let me know what you think…also if you have anything to add as well.
Thanks man.
Article:
I wanted to address and discuss the age old questions of:

“Are you born with ko power or can it be learned?”
And secondly,

“How can I add some power to my punching?”

This is a little excerpt from some classes I taught recently about how to punch correctly and the philosophy behind the theories. It is very important to understand that a significant portion of punching power is defined by physics…essentially, body mechanics and vector-based mechanics. I incorporate physics in to my teaching because I am a firm believer, if you can understand what is happening on a fundamental, principle level, then you can adjust certain aspects of your punching technique to maximize power output on your own without having to have someone guide you. (Teach a man to fish and he will eat for a lifetime)