Thoughts on testing for belts?

I started training in 2012 and received my blue in 2014. There wasn’t a test or ceremony. My coach just surprised me, and another student, with our belts.

I had to move to start grad school and the gym I’m at currently does tests, but the coach also watches rolls before offering the testing opportunity. It just seems a little weird to me

I earned every my Black Belt in 2014 and never did a test with my old coach. I’ve been teaching regular since 2010 and never gave a test to any of my students as I’m hands on instructor/owner. I joined Alliance 3 years ago and they have test for belts. At first I wasn’t keen on doing them at first. Then I saw how it gave the students grading more focus as they drilled after class getting ready for their test. Also their teammates of all belt levels happily helping them get ready. It made the team tighter and it gives the student more focus.

I’m all for the belt test’s now.

3 Likes

I got my black in 2005 and like all old school belts, there was no test. And originally, I was always for that.

Now as I get older, and seeing so many people just playing sport BJJ, with no regard for self-defence or even training against strikes or learning decent take-downs, I can see they have merit.

For me personally, at my school, I test for blue belt and do the rest the old school way. I only have one school though and roll regularly with everyone and still teach all the positions, not just the flavour of the month.

4 Likes

im nowhere near these guys levels^ but i was always watched by prof before a ceremony.

i dont think it has anything to do w him thinking youre worthy of a promotion or not. i figured that decision had already been made beforehand. i always thought it was to see how you performed under pressure, knowing there was a possible stripe or belt on the line.