Update on progress in Judo

So i've been pretty active at my local judo club (in addition to my normal BJJ training) for the last two months and wanted to give the forum my thoughts / progress.  i'm doing the classes with my son (almost 6 - so it is a bit of a family time thing), and it has been a fantastic experience.  Long post, but oh well!

• Been doing BJJ for 17 years now - so i have a lot of experience in the Gi, but it is incredible how little I knew from standing.  I've been able to pick things up fairly quickly, but the first few classes were really humbling.  Trips are a big part of my muay thai game, so thought that they'd transition quickly to Judo, but they didn't mostly because of the vastly different gripping struture. i still don't have the right push/pull mechanics
  • The club i am at is fantastic, particularly for kids - a great group of people including a 94 year old guy who cannot hear or walk, but can still throw guys around a bit.  The first time that i saw him going for a throw he drove the kid through the mat - i thought that he was going to turn to dust.  Turns out that he'll only practice when the current club owner isn't around, because he's the only one who speaks up to him
  • Competition gripping rules are frustrating, but I like how they push the pace in training. I am used to the BJJ world of anything goes, but i like how this takes me out of my comfort zone
  • I landed my first big combo throw on a good black belt (he was a jr national champion) this weekend - osoto-gari to harai goshi.  The weight transfer finally sunk in and hit it at my bjj school this morning a few times
  • Speaking of that - it is amazing how 2 months of judo (done on average 1.2x per week at the club over 9 weeks) changes everything.  my normal training partners have the same bad habits that i used to have ... wow - the difference.