What's so great about karate?

Karate lovers, this is a serious question, not a troll or a spin.

In another thread, Sambist007 wrote, "Karate has become a blanket term in the west. You simply can not lump all schools together. Some teach crappy useless forms while others teach realistic self defense." Much as I'd like to believe this, I have about 3 years' experience with 3 different karate styles. As far as I can tell, karate is an inferior form of self-defense, fighting, and physical training -- inferior to other existing methods, I mean. Specifically:

• Karate punching is weak at best, dangerous (to the puncher) at worst. There is a wider variety of punches, "chops", and "pokes" taught; but I personally have never seen them used effectively. I have come to believe that the "inside ridge hand to the neck" is likely to be useless in almost every realistic situation. On the other hand, regular old punching (often called something like "reverse punching" in the styles I took) simply is not very strong, because it's not taught with the mechanics that, say, boxing teaches you. "Well, that's because boxers punch too hard and you'll break your hand if you punch like that", you say? Okay, except that the karate styles I took insisted that you'd easily knock people out if you connected one of their sissy punches. I mean, it was just pathetic.