When was the Rubber Guard started?

I remember seeing Matt Serra years ago doing a guard similar to what is refered to as the Rubber guard now. This was way back in like 1999 or 2000. I even asked him how he was doing it and he got down and showed me some of the basics of reaching under your own arm and trapping the arm with your leg etc. I saw Shawn Williams doing it a couple years later in a no gi comp. I hear alot of moves were invented at Renzo's in NY then pickup on by guys coming from Brasil to trian there, taken back there and then brought back to the US. I would have loved to have trained at Renzo's from 2000 to about 2004.

Nino Schembri pioneered the rubber guard.

Funnily enough i remember royce grabbing his leg to keep sak down.

I only remember because quadros was saying there must be a reason hes holding his leg..lol

jigoro kano, 1904

I have limited experience with the rubber guard and with Renzo's guys so you can take this with a grain of salt: 

The type of guard that I was shown and told was the type that Shawn Williams used (so I've started calling it the Shawn Williams guard) is where I over hook his arm, reach all the way under my own knee and then lock my hands at his shoulder. If I were overhooking his right arm, my left arm would go over his arm, under my own left leg and then my right hand would clasp my left at his right shoulder.  I've used it and I think its a great set up.  I think the rubber guard would vary from this slightly.  I think you grab your own foot, on the opposite side of his head (i.e., I would grab my left foot, with my right hand on his left side of his head).    Slight variations on the same theme: Keep him locked in tight.