Wing Chun Sun Punch

not going to post the specifics of the punch, do a search on Google about it...learn how to do it and jab with this punch, and devastate your opponent. He'll be wondering, (how does his jab feel like his hook?)

:)

I think if you get in the ring with a real boxer throwing a sun punch you are going to get knocked out.

Muhsin

As a Wing Chun teacher Myself I can state with at least a modicum of knowledge that Wing Chun Punches are not as Powerful as a the Boxing rear hand punch. It is however comparable to the Boxers Jab.

Has anybody ever won a world championship with the wing punch? No! I'll stick with the punches that have been used for 100 years.

It wasn't meant to be a sport. Wing Chun greatest asset, the hand traps are negated by Boxing gloves. Before anyone starts, I am not suggesting Wing Chun Is superior to Boxing. The Problem with Wing Chun Is it's no longer tested out Like Boxing, I.E. sparring with hard contact. But Not everyone wants to get hit either. Therein lies the dilemma how to hit without getting hurt but at the same time get bettter
at what you practice. Wing Chun or boxing? If you want to Box, then Box. If you want to Practice Wing Chun
practice Wing Chun. If you want to be a world champion
Boxer go find a good Boxing coach. If you want to learn a traditional art go do that. To each his own.

Respectfully,
John

It's a vertical punch, if you practice it live and really work on owning the technique than you can do well with it. But, I don't think it's any mystical "new, thousand year old technique that will drop your opponent in seconds without any training".

"Has anybody ever won a world championship with the wing punch?"

Yes. Jack Dempsey for starters.