A Ringside Doctor's Thoughts on Diaz's Cut

As some of you know, I'm a certified ringside physician with the FL State Athletic Commission. I know the NY ringside doctor who called the fight last night, his name is Nitin. I've seen this guy at every Association of Ringside Physicians annual meeting I've attended over the last 12 years. He's always there to learn, keep up to date, and give his own teaching lectures. Nitin is the chief medical officer for the NYSAC and was tireless in his work to get the sport of MMA legalized in NY. He is a professor at Cornell, where he did his neurology training, and heads up the concussion treatment and research clinic for the university. This guy loves MMA and is a walking encyclopedia of UFC/MMA knowledge. He respects the athletes and is fully aware of the career and financial implications his decisions might have on these men and women. He knows who Nate Diaz is and knows his history and his capabilities. Eye injuries, especially lacerations of the lids and area around the eyeball itself, are serious. If Nitin opined that it was unsafe for Nate to continue, then it was unsafe for Nate to continue. Good call.

–Denise

54 Likes

Thank you for posting. 

30 Likes

Thank you for posting.

Your post was really closer to ‘Thoughts on the Ringside Doctor’ - you’ve endorsed Nitin and that’s useful to know.

However, could you expound upon what you actually believe based on what you saw of Diaz’s cut?

2 Likes
RockTheVote -

Lol, when will rogan be posting this one

1 Like

So what exactly was Nate in Danger of? The cut wasnt affecting his vision so what other reason was there to stop it 

3 Likes

727 weighing in on the 305 vs 209

Clearwater sure to run into old pro wrestlers and other show folks