"Body for Life"

I just started the Body for Life program (I've only been lifting for about a month, so I'm still a total beginner). It seems sensible to me -- 6 small balanced meals a day, weight training, interval cardio.

Does anyone here have any experience with this program? I get the impression that it's kind of looked down on in some circles, and I'm curious why. Everything in it looks perfectly reasonable to me, other than some of the outlandish "before" and "after" photos, and I'm enjoying the program so far (just one week in).

My dad is doing it right now. I dont have real strong thoughts on it but it seems ok. Some of the volume seems kinda high. But then again it mainly for weight loss not specific sports prep.

It is a good, yet simple program. I would recommend it to any newbie to the weight training, fitness game.

Nothing special but, probably good for the average Joe IMO. Bill Phillips is a marketing machine...

If it weren't for marketing machines, I'd have never got into BJJ in the first place. :P

Body for life. omg what a concept. A healthy diet and exercise.Who'd a thunk it.

The lifting, while basic, is okay. Most of the progress people make is from the diet. Whoda thunk it, cleaning up your diet and eating right helps you lose weight?

I tried the original version "back in the day" when it was called The Physique Augmentation System. I made great gains on the program. Simple, yet effective.

I used it just after I finished playing ball in college. I went from a bulky 205 to a very lean 185 in about 4 months. The nutrition stuff is pretty straightforward, balance carbs & protiens, keep fats down. The lifting volume was more than I was used to, and the cardio really, really kicked my butt.

I have since given up most weight training, and use Scrappers bodyweight stuff. I am still lean, and right at 180, but I have a lot more endurance when I roll.

Aloha,

Dogg

Good for losing weight and the average JOE. A lot of REPs.