Does Rener play any sport BJJ?

I know he's huge on MMA/Self Defense BJJ and I know he used to compete. But it seems like he went all in on the self defense. Does he still train sport at all? I could imagine doing self defense has to get boring. 

I don’t know about Rener, but here’s what I say to new guys at our gym who I know will eventually encounter certain debates about sport vs SD (and I started training in the mid 90s, coach at an MMA gym, and try to focus my BJJ mostly on being applicable in a fight/SD scenario…though we do have some guys who compete, so…):

The question of “why learn sport BJJ” really comes down to, IMO, how much “BJJ vs BJJ” you’re going to learn. You’re going to want to learn some. Otherwise, why would we bother with passing guard, or being any good at defending an arm lock? That’s stuff a BJJ guy is going to throw at you.

To me, the main thing to keep in mind is that to get better at rolling/fighting, you have to train against people who are good, and do it consistently for quite some time.

You’re welcome to try to do that without learning many counters for the moves they will throw at you, but I doubt you will have much fun :). This means you won’t stick with it, because you’ll get tired of just getting beat up.

Now…does that mean you have to go way down the rabbit hole of keeping up with the latest crab ride stuff or RDLR stuff or whatever gi entanglement is the latest tool? No, I don’t think you do.

But all of us that are doing this for the long term are playing against BJJ to some extent, the question is how much. And I don’t think that gets boring at all.

1 Like

I fully agree. But I also think too many people are hooked on sport. They learn a little SD and are like "eh I know it, Im all set". I like that kind of "transition" game into MMA. Maia, Kron etc. 

Im not trying to start a debate but I think sometimes in sport you create bad habits. If you run into someone that even has a little training, you might be introuble