finally, discovered the mount!!

This is actually embarassing, I have been trainging for 6 years and i never really liked the mount. I could finish beautifully from side control so i would never go to the mount- even if there was an opening. But the last 2 months, I have worked solely on the mount (when on top) and have found several little nifty moves and controls which has opened up my eyes from this position. Also, i have actually submitted a couple of blackbelts from this position.

Share man!

there is a reason you get 4 points for this position, and its not because its a weak position.

I had a similar experience, Trevor. I used to be great at getting to the mount, but never finishing from there. I decided to focus on a few submissions that I could just keep drilling over and over until they were reliable. My mount has become one of the strongest points of my game, even in no gi, where there are fewer submissions available.

Double attack, double attack, double attack...

Trevor or Andre, care to elaborate?

YourMomsBox,

With no gi, I found no reason to ever sit up in mount. I always keep head control and my hips low. I use my hands to strip his grip off of my knees or hips if he tries to create space. Then I work on isolating the arm that is opposite the side I'm hugging his neck. I underhook it and drive it away from his body with a little trick that I think I came up with (not saying no one else does it this way, just that no one showed me). Once that arm is away, I keep it trapped between my head and my arm. Depending on the opponent's reaction, I'll get the arm triangle, americana, or kimura. But the key is to isolate that arm and never let him bring it back to his body.