How much for BJJ training?

What should I expect to pay for bjj classes? Is it by the session or by the week? It looks like they have like 3 sessions a week. With my crazy job, I know I won't be able to go every session of the week. I'm a beginner.

Thanks

Where are you located?

I would say $15-$25 per class is about normal. However, a lot of school may not let you just pay per class.

anywhere from 80-140 a month

Check is correct.

TT

I guess I should expect to pay closer to the $140 for a place that says they are affiliated with a Gracie or Machado right?

What can you tell me about that, by the way? What does that really mean when they are an affiliate? Does it mean for example that one of the Gracies dropped by, checked out the training they have, and certifies it as being pure Gracie bjj, so they get to use his name?

What about all these places that say their instructor has trained or trains directly under one of the Gracies or another big name is bjj? What should I make of that?

Thanks guys

no, not necessarily.  i train with a pretty big name and pay 105 for unlimited.  it all depends.

rey diogo is not a big name. It's only 8 letters.

my profile is old.  i train at eddie bravos now.

11 letters thats about average, still not big.

I guess if you address him by his full title -- Sifu Eddie Bravo then it is a big name after all. (15)

My appologies.

your lucky you corrected yourself

25 bucks a class is WAY too much

You have to first ask yourself what your goals are. If you plan to compete in BJJ at a high level, or have aspirations to fight MMA, you should be willing to pay quite a bit. I would say, the first thing you would have to do, is find a school which has classes more than 3 days a week.

Renzo's school in NYC charges $250 a month for unlimited, but I would consider it well worth it since there are a lot of classes and also you will find serious guys who may be willing to train with you on the side.