Learning not to train to failure

Has caused me to become more lazy than ever. As soon as I had the piece of knowledge that training to failure constantly can actually be very unporductive I started training less and less harder LOL. This may be a the beggining of an unwanted trend with my workouts. Lately my strength sessions have been less than grueling, probably half of what I used to do. I used to workout until complete exhaustion and now I get a solid burn going and I am turning off the radio and heading for the showers. Learning to gauge ones abilities and maximum output is key and varies from individual to individual depending on numerous variables but what would you guys say is an appropriate number of days let's say per month where it is acceptable to train to failure?

I guess it differs with the excersises. Going to failure on deadlift vs. failure on biceps curls produce very different feelings :-)

How do you define failure?

there are three different kinds of failure. Concentric, isometric and eccentric failure.

When someone says not to go to failure he probably means not to go to concentric failure (which is the first one to occur).

Read this for a more thorough explanation: http://www.strengthcats.com/CPworkingtofailure.htm

You can even go farther than this. While you may fail doing an exercise in a certain range, you may be able to do it in another range.

There are of course training programs (mainly in bodybuilding) where one trains beyond failure and (for example) changes to a lighter weight.

I don't see the point of ever training to failure.

Instead of training to failure with a particular weight, I prefer to test my max-single with a HEAVIER weight once every couple of months, then start over with that new max.

From what I have read even the westside powerlifters lift to failure when using the repetition method. But it seems to not be as important as the max effort or dynamic effort method.