Serious Judo Newaza vs BJJ groundwork?

Now this is based on my layman's view, I have no background in Judo, and know next to nothing about it.

After viewing, as one example, the Olympic Judo Trials, and seeing that one girl destroy her opponent with some sick ass newaza. Or seeing some youtube clips floating around of swain. It seems some of the details of a Judoka's application of armbars is different (a bjj biased guy might think/believe "less-efficient")from bjjers.

What are the reasons for the differences? Is it based solely on tradition and the way the techniques have been taught over the years. Does it have to do with competition and the rules, point system etc.? Or is it a case that everyone eventually learns over the years, there is no "one" correct way, but many variations that can all be considered correct?

Thanks in advance for any responses!

Over 17 THOUSAND posts and you are asking this question?? I guess we'll see who bites...

Just in case youre for real. Limited tiem to groundwork means limited setups. You have to get the job done as fast as you can. If BJJers only had 10 secs on the ground to sub someone, their newaza would look pretty close...

Great ne-waza guys can be very one-dimension in that they build everything off a reaction to a throw.

Have him go up against someone where he has to show more skills than just one or two specialty submissions and they would lose.

In judo, you don't have time to really grapple. You either get a quick submission or you don't.

"In judo, you really dont have time to grapple. You either get a quick submission or you don't"

No offense, but that is really not accurate b/c you can win the match just by pinning him for tweny-five seconds i think. less if you are already on the board.

bottom line: pinning = winning in judo...pinning = stalling in bjj...

John Turner - "In judo, you really dont have time to grapple. You either get a quick submission or you don't"