Shin pain (shin splints?)

Hey guys...

lately I've been getting some pretty severe pain in both of my shins, usually on the inside. The pain is like right on the bone and it hurts like hell to run.

I've been running lately, like three times a week. So I took about a week off to see if the pain would go away, but it didn't really. I've just been poppin' pain meds and running anyway. But are these shins splints or what? Anyone have any recommendations to rid them?

Lose weight, fat ass.

You wouldn't tow a 40 ft. boat with a VW Golf.

hey---i'm a student athletic trainer so i'll say what i know......ice them(with ice cups if you have them),get good shoes, run on smooth surface(not cement), and their are exercises you can do to help them ease the pain, but i can't really explain it without showing it....i have them too---if your running to help cardio for mma, stop....their are other ways to get your cardio better without long running and will be better on shins....plus mma is not long distance(sprints are more useful)...try one of those stairmaster type machines and see if they hurt....try jumprope but if you got it like me jump roping kills also...hope i helped a little

Yep you got shin splints. You need rest and do tha stuff johnduke said.

Get them checked out as well. I ended up have stress fracture from running on cement 4 days a week for 7 months.

Just use the eliptical machine at the gym, but make sure to go longer and at a higher intensity than you would while running because it's quite a bit easier. I cut running out completely for about 2 months and the shin splints were totally gone. I throw some jumprope into the routine now and then and so far it hasn't been an issue.

johnduke215 is correct, grab some Dixie Cups, fill them half way with water, and stick a few in the freezer. At the end of your run, rip the tops off and ice your shins, (while holding the bottom of the cup, rub the ice block up/down your shin).