so the nice old guy at the gym....

...who i happen to see and speak briefly with on a daily basis turns out to be current NY state boxing commissioner, ex-Manhattan supreme court judge, author of "Carlito's Way," and documented MMA-opposer, Edwin Torres. i've been calling him "Eddie" for the last 6 months. a retired NY cop filled me in on who he was yesterday at the gym. and Eddie...errr...Judge Torres...doesnt know that i worked in the MMA industry for almost a decade.

so, should i breach the MMA topic with him next time i see him? any suggestions of what, if anything, i should say to him about MMA in NY?

Nah. Let the man work out.

Choke him out and then when hes unconscious armbar him and fuck his elbow up.  Then soccer kick him a few times. 

Show him what happens when you oppose MMA.

Or try to convince him about how great our sport is with a well thought out point using real facts and specific examples.

One of those two.

lol...so it might come across as weird if i start a conversation with him while he's laying face down on that hamstring curl machine?

PatrickFreitas - lol...so it might come across as weird if i start a conversation with him while he's laying face down on that hamstring curl machine?
lol

at a legislative roundtable on the legalization of mma in nys last year, edwin torres freely admitted he knew jack shit about mma but said he was open-minded and eager to learn. he's not so much against mma from what i could tell. he just doesn't want the bad stuff he's seen in boxing happen in mma once it gets legalized.

torres is a commissioner, but melvina lathan is the chairperson and she's 100% gung ho about mma, so it's not like there's any issues within the nys athletic commission about legalizing mma.

that said, you should invite torres into the steam room for some of "this".

PatrickFreitas - lol...so it might come across as weird if i start a conversation with him while he's laying face down on that hamstring curl machine?